

Minutes of a meeting of the Council of Engineers Geoscientists Manitoba held on Friday, April 8, 2016 in the Association premises at 870 Pembina Hwy, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3M 2M7.

PRESENT: Lesley McFarlane, presiding; Fred Cross; Jonathan Epp; Marcia

Friesen; Pamela Fulton-Regula; Lindsay Melvin; Dave Owens; Howard Procyshyn; Sheryl Rosenberg; Don Spangelo; Steven

Vieweg

ALSO PRESENT: Grant Koropatnick; Lorraine Dupas

REGRETS: Ruth Eden; John Guenther; Sarantos Mattheos; Chris Trenholm

### 16.03.1 CALL TO ORDER AND INTRODUCTIONS

President McFarlane called the meeting to order at 12:01 p.m.

### 16.03.2 EVALUATION OF THE PREVIOUS COUNCIL MEETING

Council did not evaluate the previous meeting as the page was not available.

#### 16.03.3 ADOPTION OF AGENDA

It was MOVED by Fred Cross and SECONDED by Marcia Friesen that the agenda be approved as circulated.

**CARRIED** 

## 16.03.4 MINUTES OF THE COUNCIL MEETING OF 17 March 2016

It was MOVED by Don Spangelo and SECONDED by Marcia Friesen that the minutes of the Council meeting of 17 March 2016 be amended as follows:

Page 2: Add the following paragraph:

President McFarlane announced that Council has called for a special meeting of the Association under by-law 5.2.1 for the purpose of providing members with various updates including information on the two resolutions

from the October 23, 2015 AGM. She noted that the date for the meeting has not been set, but will be scheduled as soon as Council can determine an optimal date for all. It is hoped that a date sometime in May is possible.

# Page 4: Add the following paragraph:

President McFarlane announced that Council considered the reports and recommendations of the two Resolution Task Groups: (i) Resolution Task Group #1 Council supports the direction taken so far, but work is still in progress; (ii) Resolution Task Group #2 Council passed the following motion:

That an Audit Committee be created as per the Resolution #2 Task Group report and that members be recruited in time for approval at the June council meeting and the annual audit (of the 2015-2016 fiscal year ending June 30, 2016).

**CARRIED** 

### 16.03.5 MINUTES OF THE In Camera Session of 17 March 2016

It was MOVED by Marcia Friesen and SECONDED by Pamela Fulton-Regula that the minutes of the In Camera session of 17 March 2016 be approved as circulated.

**CARRIED** 

12:25 p.m. Council went % camera+

1:38 p.m. Council came % out of camera+.

# **16.03.6 2015-16 Nominating Committee**

Current President: Lesley McFarlane, P.Eng. Past-President: Howard Procyshyn, P.Eng.

Chair of IC: Allan Ball, P.Eng.

1st Year Councillor: Jonathan Epp, P.Eng.

Member Edwin Sapnu, P.Eng. Member Wally Jackson, P.Eng. Member Kristen Myles, P.Eng. Member Raymond Reichelt, P.Geo.

Member Aimee Intac-Leung, P.Eng.

Members were selected following the procedure as specified in Councils terms of reference for the Nominating Committee. Names were identified

through a volunteer call to all members through the E-news.

It was MOVED by Marcia Friesen and SECONDED by Pamela Fulton-Regula that Council appoints the above list of 9 members to the Nominating Committee.

**CARRIED** 

### **INFORMATION ITEMS**

- **16.03.7** Council received the following information items:
  - N1. Membership statistics as at March 31, 2016
  - N2. Financial Report to Council . Balance Sheet at February 29, 2016
- 16.03.8 Council received the following reminder about the upcoming event:YM-YWCA Women of Distinction Awards Dinner May 4, 2016. Table of 10.

The meeting adjourned at 1:46 p.m.

Lesley McFarlane, P.Eng.

President

Grant Koropatnick, P.Eng. FEC
CEO & Registrar

Ld/ 01000/01100/2016 April 8 minutes