# Annual General Meeting of the Westman Chapter of the Association of Professional Engineers & Geoscientists of the Province of Manitoba

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

Where: Victoria Inn, Brandon

When: 12:00pm, Friday, April 19th, 2024

# **AGENDA**

- 1. Call to Order (12:00 pm)
- 2. Adoption of the Agenda and Accepting of Previous AGM Minutes (see attached)
- 3. President's and Treasurer's Report 2023 (see attached)
- 4. Business Arising
- 5. Election of Officers (If Required)
- 9. Adjournment

# **Appendix 1: Previous AGM Westman Chapter Minutes**

Date: Friday, April 21, 2023 Location: Victoria Inn, Brandon, MB Attendance: 45 EGM members in attendance

Secretary: Scott Melvin

1. Call to Order:

Scott Whaley, current Chair of EGM Westman. Meeting started at 12:20 pm.

#### 2. Adoption of the Agenda.

MOTION (Ashley Haigh/Pat Versavel): That the agenda be accepted as presented. CARRIED.

#### 3. Minutes of the previous AGM (April 05, 2019) presented.

MOTION (Pat Versavel/Robert Riesz): That the minutes of EGM Westman AGM be accepted as presented. CARRIED.

#### 4. Business Arising:

COVID has delayed the AGM for a few years. No old business arising was presented. MOTION (Adam Fouillard/Kyle Cumming): That the Business Arising be accepted. CARRIED.

#### 5. President's Report:

President's Report (attached to agenda) was presented.

MOTION (Andrew March/Eric Watters): That the president's report be accepted as circulated. CARRIED

#### 6. Treasurer's Report:

Kyle Cumming presented the treasurers report. Balance of \$9,590 reported. All expenses up-to-date.

MOTION (Pat Versavel/Ryan Johnston): That the treasurer's report be accepted as circulated. CARRIED

#### 7. Election of Officers:

As per the bylaws of the chapter, the executive will elect the officers for the chapter at the next executive meeting (President, Vice President, Treasurer and Secretary). The existing members of the executive all agreed to continue to serve in that role. In addition Adam Fouillard was nominated. The slate of executives is as follows: Scott Whaley (MB Hydro), Kyle Cumming (Powell Construction), Scott Melvin (Node Engineering), Mike Maendel (Burns Maendel), Ryan Johnston (Burns Maendel), Patrick Vandoorne (Richards Consulting), Eric Watters (Manitoba Infrastructure), Andrew March (Water Services), Patrick Pulak (City of Brandon) and Adam Fouillard (Dillon).

MOTION (Coenraad Fourie/ Nathaniel Wittmeier): That the slate of executives be accepted. CARRIED

#### 8. New Business:

- Scott Whaley and Kyle Cumming will step down from their officer positions. They will remain
  on the executive. New officers will be selected at the next executive meeting.
- PD Lunches have returned post-COVID.
- Members were encouraged to affiliate with the chapter on their EGM profile.
- The chapter and the head office provided support for the Westman Science Fair.
- The chapter held a networking event at a Brandon Wheat Kings game. The intent is to repeat that again for next year.
- Mike Gregoire and Anjanette Zielinski came to Brandon in March. Members appreciated being able to interact directly with the EGM leadership.

#### 9. Adjournment.

MOTION (Ryan Johnston/Dan Burns): That the meeting adjourn. CARRIED at 12:39 PM

# Appendix 2. President's Report – 2023

# Engineering Geoscientists Manitoba - Westman Chapter – 2020/21 Annual Report

The 2023/2024 year has marked a return to more normal Engineers Geoscientists Manitoba – Westman Chapter activities. Since our last AGM in April 2023 the chapter has organized four PD and networking luncheon events for our members. The Chapter continues to volunteer their time and resources to community events. Numerous members participated in judging the annual Western Manitoba Science Fair (WMSF) held in Brandon. The executive has worked with the WMSF committee to implement a special reward for the best Engineer/Geoscientist topic. The Brandon Career Symposium is another local event that the executive becomes involved with because it is an excellent opportunity to promote engineering and geoscientist. Every year the committee has setup a display booth at the Brandon Career Symposium which usually includes a spaghetti bridge building contest. This years event is being held on April 23 and 24<sup>th</sup>. A notice to members looking for volunteers to staff the booth during the event will be going out shortly.

Thanks to the executive committee which consists of Scott Whaley (Past Chair), Eric Watters (Vice Chair), Andrew March (Treasurer), Scott Melvin (Secretary), Mike Maendel, Patrick Vandoorne, Adam Fouillard, Kyle Cumming, and Patrick Pulak for their ongoing support and striving to make EGM Westman an active and successful chapter.

Ryan Johnston – Chair, EGM Westman Chapter

# **Appendix 3.** Treasurer's Report

2023/2024	
Balance - April 20, 2023	\$ 8,509.17
April 21, 23 Luncheon	\$ (749.32)
July 5, 23 - Head Office Contribution	\$ 3,758.00
Nov. 28, 23 Luncheon	\$ (537.87)
Nov. 28, 23 Speaker Honorarium	\$ (1,000.00)
Dec. 19, 23 Executive Lunch Mtg	\$ (208.35)
Jan. 26, 24 Luncheon	\$ (922.30)
Mar. 8, 24 Luncheon	\$ (677.97)
Westman Science Fair Donation	\$ (100.00)
Bank Fees	\$ (36.00)
Balance - April 16, 2024	\$ 8,035.36

Kyle Cumming, P. Eng, Past Treasurer – Westman Chapter

### Appendix 4. Business Arising

- The executive committee elected new officers for Chair, Vice Chair and Treasurer as listed below.
- The Westman Chapter with the support of EnggGeoMB has sponsored the Westman Science Fair and continues to provide a special "Engineers Geoscientists Manitoba Award".
- The Westman Chapter is assisting to coordinate a booth at the Brandon Career Symposium.
- Resolution for Constitutional Amendment: Election of Executive Committee.

Motion from Scott Melvin, Secretary: Change the election of the executive to match with the terms of office. Thus the election of the executive would occur next year (2025) and every two years following that.

#### Current Constitution: Section 8(d):

The terms of office for officers of the Executive, except for the Past Chair, shall be for two years with one-half of the Executive to be elected each year. The Past Chair term of office shall be one year. The terms of office shall begin immediately after the Chapter Annual General Meeting.

#### Change To: Section 8(d):

The terms of office for officers of the Executive shall be for two years. The election of the Executive shall be conducted every two years. The terms of office shall begin immediately after the Chapter Annual General Meeting.

# Appendix 5. Election of Officers - 2024

#### **Current Executive and Officers:**

- 1. Chair: Ryan Johnston (Burns Maendel)
- 2. Vice Chair: Eric Watters (Manitoba Infrastructure)
- 3. Past Chair: Scott Whaley (Manitoba Hydro)
- 4. Treasurer: Andrew March (Cenovus)
- 5. Secretary: Scott Melvin (Node Engineering)
- 6. Mike Maendel (Burns Maendel)
- 7. Kyle Cumming (Powell Construction)
- 8. Patrick Vandoorne (Kiras)
- 9. Patrick Pulak (City of Brandon)
- 10. Adam Fouillard (Dillon)